With nine MLAs in Manipur, including the deputy chief minister, announcing their decision to withdraw support from the current BJP-led coalition government on June 17, the ruling party is likely to dissolve its government.

Four legislators from the National People’s Party (NPP) including three ministers – Health and Family Welfare Minister L Jayantakumar Singh, deputy chief minister Yumnam Joykumar Singh, YAS minister Letpao Haokip and tribal affairs minister N Kayisii have withdrawn their support to the BJP-led government. 

Meanwhile, the lone independent MLA from Jiribam and Trinamool Congress MLA has also extended support to the Congress.

Former CM and Congress leader, Ibobi Singh, claimed that they have 27 MLAs and have the support of four belonging to NPP, one each of AITC and Independent, and hence, they have 33 MLAs on their side in the 60-seat assembly.

Further, with the latest three resignations, the BJP and its allies are left with 23 MLAs and Congress has 29.

About the author

+ posts