Voting for the election of a new government in Delhi is underway today after the countless election campaigns. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress are the main contenders in the Delhi elections.

More than 1.47 crore citizens are eligible to exercise their voting exercise today and decide the fate of Delhi. The Polling that began at 8 am saw current Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and BJP’s Ram Madhav were among the early voters.

While the AAP is eyeing another term in office, BJP had also left no stone unturned to garner support. The Congress has also been campaigning to form the government in the national capital.

There are 672 candidates in the fray for 70 assembly seats and the election results will be announced on February 11, Tuesday.

It may be mentioned here that more than 1.47 crore total registered voters in the city include 8.11 million males, 6.7 million females, 869 of the third gender, 11,608 service voters, and 204,830 senior citizens (aged 80 years or more), according to Delhi CEO Office.

About the author

+ posts